ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Married, 15 years

Rebecca and Westy, "pre kids" (google images)

It has taken me a day to come up with something sensible to say.
In 1996, the day after Australia Day (which back then was “just another public holiday” not “cause for celebration”), Rebecca and I tied the knot in a small country church in a town on the North Coast of New South Wales.
For a while there was some frustration that my whole family wasn’t there. It would be great if I could say that frustration is behind me, but to be honest, one of the lasting memories of that day is my brother not being there – despite having said he would be.
What a shame that such a negative thought would be at the front of my recollection of such an important day!

It didn’t overwhelm my emotions on the day, or the happiness I felt after being formally announced married and leaving the church, even, how I felt after not knowing what to say when I made my speech at the reception.

Since that day, my love for Rebecca has only grown. It has been tested. We have had time apart due to the challenges of life, which saw me finish my time with the Army Reserve. Experience has, and continues to, teach us both what each of us will accept, what each of us deserves.

She has followed me from one end of the state to the other, and then, despite being “country people”, to an inner city suburb of the nation’s largest city. And from there, to the “disadvantaged” western suburbs – where we now own a fibro shack in “the Druitt”.

We have been blessed with three children, and in return been confronted with the challenge of our youngest son having autism. Together, we’re pulling ourselves, and all of our children, through this as well.

The challenges have tested us. But we are together and together we will rise over the challenges and our love will help us overcome whatever confronts us.

Do I want to be in a stronger place for our 20th? Hell yes. But together we can be.

2 responses to “Married, 15 years

  1. Dearna January 28, 2011 at 3:23 am

    Wow.Well said westie.Congratulations to you both.

Leave a Reply

