ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Real bloggingness

I am here gently touching on the edge of the blogosphere. I’m a bit comfortable surfing on the edge of the tide, while my job is in a chaotic state, but already I notice good things.

Like if you add ASD to a google search for Collingwood… you end up here! Well, within the first dozen or so links anyway. Or if not here, at Autism United! God bless JAFL, and Magpie, for the weirdity that is google pagerankings.

Which is A Good Thing®©(TM).

I’ve created a facebook page (still a WIP). And I’m trying to work out where to host imawestie.com, or imawestie.com.au, or something. I don’t know if that will end up on wordpress, or google, or… somewhere.

And other than flanno shirts, or bogan acessories… well, what’s a website like that going to be for? But not till at least August. From then on, anything goes. Kids, Bec, and work, willing.

Gently, gently I am pushing myself further out from my comfort zone. Writing more. Writing, no matter what. I guess I’ll be needing pictures, or videos, or something, next.

So FiJo, and Val, and especially Nicole who dragged me into this idea. Thanks to Felicity Moore , and Sacha Molitorisz too – for getting me online, talking about being a parent, before I knew I had anything like a problem to talk about (and to Felicity, for showing me that there is content for a parents website in Australia – I just gotta do the Dads one now). Thanks. I hope this can keep moving on. I hope I keep hitting these keys and just keep writing.

You all know I define my own success. I don’t need #TIGERBLOOD to be #WINNING. So my success will be:

  1. Getting a real domain name.
  2. Getting that domain name into the first few results on google.
  3. Writing. At least once a week. Ideally though, in advance… so I can have the article waiting for the clock to tick over.
  4. Making this thing pay for my hobby. Which might mean more non autsie stuff showing up or something? I mean I am a geek, a commuting cyclist in Sydney, a former army reservist, a wet shaver and aspiring honemeister (which reminds me I need to get those stones out of that box and sharpen that razor….)
  5. But most importantly. Being in touch with more people, who help me with all my kids… spectrummy, challenged, otherwise abled, or just as they are.

That looks like enough of a list for now. It might have to be bumped to its own page so I don’t lose it. But now I’ve written it, I can hold myself to it.

Thanks to my spectrummy parenting community, for giving me a direction to go in.

Leave a Reply

