ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Transport Tuesday

This week I’m on my “N+1”, cycling talk for “spare bike”.

This is because my main ride is having some issues holding onto tyres, and I guess I’m not the all-star bike mechanic I need to be to sort that out. I really need to have a look at the thing when I’m not in a rush.

We’ve had the first really warm night for the 2011/12 summer – even though it’s still spring – but as I stumbled out of bed there was a heavy shower and I was thinking “Oh crap I’ll be riding in the rain today.” Thankfully, it didn’t work out like that – I stayed dry and had a peaceful bike ride, and a peaceful train trip.

The thing is, I don’t have an issue with riding in the rain – it’s just commuting in the rain is really tedious. Maybe it would be different if I was going far enough to have a fully set up commuting bike but at my distance I’m just jamming my clothes into a backpack, because I currently commute via bicycle, train and foot!

A few steps closer to getting somewhere with the Trek1000 that’s in the shed: it seems I have all the parts I need to fix the front wheel, possibly I have the front derallieur, and as of yesterday I think I now have the cable needed to restore all the shifter and brake cables.

Via the Mount Druitt Commuters Improvement Group, I’ve been put in touch with a bloke from Blacktown City Council who is conducting a meeting on Wednesday, but unfortunately it doesn’t look good for me going to it as I would need to take a whole day off work.

Leave a Reply

