ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Reflections on getting back into writing

Today marks the end of another week away from home. A year ago my routine could not have been much more different than it is today while still being a routine.

After a week away from home I have driven back from Canberra to Sydney, while my wife has been sole carer for our three children including our one non verbal autistic son. This is far from an easy burden to bear and it weighs on my mind throughout the whole week, both while I’m away and while I’m home, too. But in my own way, I’m an inwardly social animal myself, and being away from my usual home, and my family, is a burden for me, and the further I get from the first couple of weeks while being in Canberra had some novelty value, the harder things get.

So the time came when it was acceptably late enough for me to call the week finished, and I was out the door. Pretty quickly! The drive home gives plenty of opportunity for reflecting on where this time away from home is taking me. My drive from Canberra takes me through some rural lifestyle blocks. This is the closest I come now to the hour of sitting on a train I used to get each morning and afternoon, which is where I spent a lot of time thinking about – if not actually writing – my blog back then. But I wasn’t even able to take the five minutes to stop and take a photo of any of the mobs of kangaroos I passed in the late stages of the afternoon, let alone, make some notes about a blog.

If I’m going to write, I need to make writing fit in. So something has to change, maybe I need to work out how to dictate notes while I’m in the car. Or SOMETHING.

The other important task of course, would be to come up with some themes I can work on over a longer timeframe. Something beyond the 140 characters of a tweet, although, it would be great if a few good tweets can feed a blog or so each!

 

One response to “Reflections on getting back into writing

  1. Alan June 22, 2012 at 11:09 am

    One of the things that helped me was occasionally writing more than one article a day, and giving myself some articles / posts in reserve. That way if I wanted a ‘holiday’ from writing, I could just post one of those that I had in reserve. I also used a scheduler, so I could write them and stick them in the schedule. I once did that while I was away in Brisbane for a week enjoying a holiday, and the posts just published themselves once a day until I got back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

