ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

A very social evening

Some ten and a half years ago, my wife came to visit me in Melbourne at the hole of my cousin, Aunty and Uncle.

On that visit, my wife told me she was pregnant with Princess P. This helped to cement my Aunty as a key foundation in my life who is closely linked with such important moments. To such an extent that the name of her son is the name my wife and I chose for our first son.

Tonight, my Aunty is here in Canberra, visiting her sister here where I stay each week while I work here. Having not seen her for quite some time – since before her husband fell ill with cancer, and has since passed away – the conversation is incredible and enlightening.

I am pleased to say that in two nights I will be enjoying an evening meal with them both, and I hope my cousin and his family as well. It is quite an unplanned life event that I hope will stay with me for years to come.

Whoever your family are, take the moments it takes, and reach out to them. You never quite know if it will be the last chance you will have.

Leave a Reply

