ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Day in the sun

In an effort to not “waste the weekend” (right?) for some reason I got it into my head that yes, Bec, the kids and I were available today to toddle off to Sydney Olympic Park and meet up with both of my fathers sisters. One I am staying with each week, the other is visiting her at the moment, both came to Sydney for a spot of investigative work in the discovery of our families history. In short, they discovered that the house an ancestor lived in, has been demolished some time ago to make way for a motorway.

Climbing trees out front of ANZ Stadium, Sydney

 

It was, though, a really pleasant day. Even if Bec and I spent far too much of it wondering where the hell one or more of our children were, or walking three kilometers or so (just kidding) to and from available parks (no I’m not). It just so happened that it took more time than my wife and I tend to have on any given weekend (and then to top everything off, when I came home at the end of it, I rushed off in the opposite direction to assist an aquatintance with a computer problem). Mainly, the kids all enjoyed climbing trees, my aunties, wife and myself, all enjoyed sitting in the sun, hearing the crowd enjoy the South Sydney Rabbitohs take on somebody-or-other at ANZ Stadium.

 

Ironic, given who was playing at ANZ today.

If I ever consider I’m not doing enough on a given weekend, please slap me. The people I’m talking to here, know who they are!

One response to “Day in the sun

  1. Think Wisely Now July 8, 2012 at 11:03 am

    I’d be happy to give you a slap. Verbal though, you might enjoy the physical punishment too much. Don’t want to start bad habits…

Leave a Reply

