ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

M is for Motivation

My cycling is now back on track, because I’ve done it so many times in a row – once!

What that means is, I need to come up with something to turn a concept into a repeated event, into a routine. Because our life might be made interesting by one-off events, but it is shaped by our routines, and I am aiming to be fitter on my 40th birthday than I was on my 39th (ooh, scary).

How will I achieve this?

A common means of effecting human behavior can be summarised with the word “bribery.”

How can I bribe myself? At this stage I’ve made one choice: when I commute to and from work by bike 30 times, I will get myself a new pair of boots.

This seems like it will be a reasonable thing, because it will let me leave one pair of boots at the office so I can have nice shoes at work when I ride my bike to get there. It will also mean by the time I spend the money to do this, riding my bike will become if not a habit, at least a routine. It will also take me at least ten weeks to achieve this goal.

Success is all in the definition.

So far, I’ve succeeded in going from “one day” to “day one“.

Leave a Reply

