ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Lurgey season

When you think you’ve passed through the worst of something, is often when it jumps up and bites you on the arse.

So it has turned out with the dreaded Lurgey Season in Westie Central. Bec lead the charge, coming down crook, before handballing to Princess P, who missed her football last weekend. And this week, I returned home to find Bob the Builder Fan is very unwell.

So bad that this morning, no only was he not jumping all around the place, but when I asked him to turn down the volume on his headphones… he burst into tears. Which prompted me to take him back to bed, which he was quite happy to settle into for at least another hour.

All these sick people – my wife and my kids – leave me feeling very guilty about the time I’m spending away from home. It’s a sacrifice I’m having to make right now. And I’m looking through these events to find the motivation to stick to what I’m doing, and aim for a family relocation to Canberra for the start of 2014. It’s somewhat driven by events like this, as much as it is by the normal family events that I’m missing out on:
Suspected robber hurt in police chase crash. This follows on from the recent event where the Police t-boned a car through a fence across the road from my house.

Canberra, boring? Bring it on. I’m done with excitement.

One response to “Lurgey season

  1. Alan Howard August 4, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    I love Canberra’s boring. A quite, simple, relaxing life… that’s all I ask for. Oh wait… I have it!

Leave a Reply

