ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Day of rest – that’s tomorrow, right?

It’s late (for me) on a Saturday night.

That means, the week is finished. And if ever a week needed to end, it was this week (just gone).

I’m not going into boring details, but the summary is – I’m glad it’s finished.

I worked out too late yesterday that I should be diverting to pick up a purchase for Rebecca. So today I ended up going for a drive with my youngest son for most of the day to collect it, followed by assembling a new treadmill in our back room when I got home.

This is how I contribute toward my family. Everybody contributes to their family unit in their own way, with whatever strengths they have, putting themself out there in ways that help other family members. It’s an implied part of the family contract that this effort will be reciprocated by the other people in the family. Everyone in my family puts themself out there as best they can. Exactly what that means, is totally different for each of the five of us.

When it all works, we’re a well functioning family unit. Nobody takes anyone else for granted. A job that is difficult for one person might be done by someone who finds it easier, taken on as a team effort, or maybe the ultimate solution will be used – throw money at it till the problem either goes away or is fixed.

Unfortunately, not everyone has that well functioning a family unit, and even for those that do have a well functioning family unit, it’s easy enough for one or more people to feel taken advantage of for a while. There are a few answers, but they all involve one common aspect – communication. The more, the better.

Right now, I feel like I’ve been hit by a train, after having put myself out there for over seven days in a row. Unfortunately, it’s bounced back on some people close to me, and I feel like I have to make up for that. Tomorrow is a new day, though, so I’m off to bed, hopefully to wake up feeling better than I have today – with a lot less reason to spend six hours in a car.

We all put ourselves out there for those we hold close. Don’t begrudge others what you choose to do for them, and if your fuse gets a bit short, take the time to think about why that happened, and discuss it with the other person later – when everything has calmed down.

2 responses to “Day of rest – that’s tomorrow, right?

  1. Suse August 26, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    Great post – after having a mini meltdown myself today it’s just what I needed to read. Thanks.

    • Westie August 26, 2012 at 4:48 pm

      Hope today has been better for you.

      We all have days when it is too much. It’s great to reach out and confirm we aren’t going through it all, all alone.
      The more we reach out, the more lessons we learn to pull ourselves up short next time, or failing that, back up by the bootstraps after we miss the boat.

Leave a Reply

