ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

More success

Last summer, my kids all went along to swimming lessons. They were great – both the swimming lessons, and my kids.

Summer though comes to an end, and swimming is replaced by football, which takes up so much time that swimming isn’t such a great idea when we are so busy as well.

These last couple of weeks, I have been taking my kids to the local swimming pool. My youngest non-verbal son has had quite a bit of anxiety in coming to grips with being back in the pool. But in his take-on-the-world style, he rapidly got back to his previous confidence and was using the water slide, but remained concerned with putting his face under the water.

This weekend just gone, all that has changed.

It started in the shallowest pools, with my son happily ducking under the water.

Then yesterday, I suggested to him that he comes with me into “the big pool“. This pool has a ramp running the whole length of the pool in one lane, which ends in water that is 1.2m deep – nowhere near out of depth for myself, but far too deep for my son to have his head above the water while standing on the floor.

He happily followed me in. He happily laid front down and attempted to dogpaddle.

I was overjoyed.

He managed to get himself all the way to the shallowest end of the pool, although this was quite a challenge for him.

We finished the day with him hanging onto my elbows, laying face down, and kicking his way through the water.

With a start to the summer (well – Winter is finished!) this great, I’m hopeful that swimming lessons will be very positive, fruitful, and successful.

Great work to my youngest son.

I will also add that all this success followed having been told he could not use the water slide due to a childs birthday party which had booked the facility.

5 responses to “More success

  1. Bright Side of Life August 28, 2012 at 3:54 am

    That is great news. You guys are going to have a happy summer!

    • Westie August 28, 2012 at 7:31 pm

      I hope that’s the truth of it.
      The bizarre thing is, I thought that now I’m contracting I’d be flat strap all summer – but it seems that I will be stood down for most of the time the kids are out of school. I’ve never had that much time off at once while I was a permanent employee, ever!

  2. Suse August 28, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    Great news – I remember taking our son to swimming lessons and it took years to get him to put his face in the water. Then when he finally did it, we couldn’t keep him about the water 🙂
    Well done!

  3. Suse August 28, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    That was supposed to be above the water – will teach me to proof read!

    • Westie August 28, 2012 at 10:01 pm

      Our son has been in love with the water for about four years now, however his confidence has far exceeded his competence for most of that time. This “happy to be under water” is quite a new thing.

Leave a Reply

