ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Great day with the kids

On the right, hot chockie with mum and dad.
On the left, the aftermath.

Here in Australia, tomorrow being the first Sunday in September, we celebrate Fathers Day. In no shortage of ways, I feel like we celebrated it a day early though!

For the first day this week, 6 am rolled around and I didn’t have to get out of bed. That in itself was pretty great.

Bec went out to her usual Saturday appointment, and she took Magpie with her. When she takes either Princess P or Magpie out of the house, the two kids that stay behind are quiet as can be… but Magpie plus either of the other two results in quite a bit of noise.

So I was able to sleep in, quite late.

When I did get up, I found there wasn’t anything I HAD to do. Which for me is quite pleasant, and leaves me looking for things I WANT to do. So I got busy till Bec came home again, when she suggested we go buy Magpie some new shoes.

This involved a round-trip walk of about 5.5km.We could have driven of course, but… why not walk?

Walked to the marketplace, bought shoes, coffee for myself and WestyBec, then the walk home stopping at a fresh and exciting playground on the way.

After the cold, rain and snow of Canberra, the sunshine of Sydney was a fantastic way to spend a Saturday with my family.

5 responses to “Great day with the kids

  1. alienhippy September 1, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    Happy Father’s day for tomorrow, love the photo I was always standing on my head too. I liked watching TV that way, it seemed more interesting. Love and hugs. xx 🙂

  2. Alan September 1, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    Happy father’s day for tomorrow 🙂

    we had a beautiful day here in Canberra today. Photos are on Facebook 🙂

Leave a Reply

