ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Fathers Day 2012

Today in Australia we celebrated Fathers Day.

For my family and I it was quite a happy day, although, as is normal for my Sundays it has ended in a rush. As I am writing this, Bec is still cooking our dinner, while ironing my shirts, so I can pack my car and get to bed for my oh-my-god-it’s-early start.

Within my own family, and my circle of people I call friends, I know I am blessed: I have friends and relatives who remember the father who has passed on with fond sadness each Fathers Day, and other relatives for whom Fathers Day is a day to grieve their children who have passed before them. I am blessed that neither of these challenges yet confront me. My heart goes out to anyone in either of these situations.

And of course, there are those mothers doing both jobs. Particularly in this suburb, there are no shortage of mums doing double duty as both mum, and Dad. Some of them, are also faced with the challenge that is a child on the Autism spectrum, or facing some other challenge in this life. Through luck, hard choices, or lifes blessings, that is also something I am not haveing to struggle with.

Whoever you are. Wherever you are. I hope you spare a thought for your father, and the father of your children, today, as you do on every day.

My father on the left, with his brother. Taken at my fathers 70th birthday party.

 

Leave a Reply

