ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Birthday Eve

Statue of Liberty and World Trade Centre, September 11 2001

In 2001, the eve of my birthday changed.

For the rest of my life, the moments prior to the clock ticking over in Australia to my birthday became synonymous with the start of the “War on Terror.”

I remember, being awake, waiting for it to “officially” become my birthday. I forget what had been on the TV, but whatever it was, became the News, showing that an aircraft had just flown into some building in New York City.

While the commentators commence debating how an “accident” like this may occur, with the camera still focussed on the first building as it steadily commences burning, the second plane flew into the second building – just after midnight, my local time, on what had just become my 29th birthday.

Since that day, many people have paid the “ultimate price” putting their body on the line for their country and I hope for their personal beliefs.  I hope the families of each of them can own September 11 as a day of remembrance.

 

Tomorrow, I will be 40. I’m still digesting that, I will think more on this issue over the next 24 hours.

3 responses to “Birthday Eve

  1. WonderfullyFi September 11, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    I remember it clearly and it still shocks me to the core.
    Happy birthday for tomorrow and sorry that something so tragic falls on the same date.

  2. Bright Side of Life September 11, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    Happy Birthday, Westie. I still remember that day as if it was yesterday. I was at a 5th birthday party. Hey, now you are 40…. eish you are old hey!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

