ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Childfree. Not Carefree.

Yesterday, Bec and I left our kids with their grandparents – Bec’s parents – and headed back home from Wauchope to Sydney. The plan being of course, that we would be childless, footloose and care free.

The reality has not quite been so rosy. The fact is we are child-free only until we collect them again next Sunday. Between now, and then, there is a long list of activity to fill in what feels like every. single. moment of each day. Change of season, preparation for the last term of school, an effort to just generally “catch up” with the things that are hard to do with kids around in general – let alone one confirmed and one suspected special needs child. I don’t know if it’s a good, or a bad, thing that it’s a short work week for myself!

On a positive, I am making my first Sydney-Canberra trip in my NEW CAR. But I’ve done enough talking about that car for the time being, I will wait and see how it’s treating me this time next week before I discuss it any more.

If you’re on holidays, I hope they are fantastic.

Leave a Reply

