ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Shaveblog: The Travelling Wet Shave Experience

Some time ago I decided to ditch “cartridge” razors. I tried to go to electric razors but found they tended to just cause an unnacceptable amount of friction burn.

Shave of the Day – Canberra

The Kit

My travelling shave kit

My travelling kit is pretty basic: a Gillette DE razor, Astra blade, Palmolive shave stick. I also use the handbasin, a facewasher, and a plastic measuring cup that happened to be in the bathroom already.

I will follow up this post in the coming weeks with a detailed post about each item of my kit – well the items that are worth discussing in detail.

The Prep

Preparing the face – a good hot wash. No soap, I’ve done that in the shower.

The first step to a good shave, happens in the shower so there are no photos of that 😉 – in a good hot shower that fills the room with steam, I wash my face with a “good moisturising soap” – well, I use the Dove that happened to be in the bathroom already but of course I didn’t buy it!

After getting out of the shower, I dry my hair and body but I skip my face. I get my shave kit ready – fill the basin, soak the facewasher and shave brush, soak my shave stick in about 2cm of water in the plastic measuring cup.

While the shave stick and brush are soaking, I wash my face with very hot water on the facewasher.

Lathering

Lathering starts with applying the shave stick directly to your face

Lathering – also known as “building a lather” – with a shave stick is a very different to lathering with “goop in a can,” or indeed, with a puck.

With the face very wet, the action is akin to scribbling on your own face with a great big thick crayon. When done, there should be an even layer of soap left behind all over your stubble.

Applying shave stick to the brush

This still tends to not leave enough soap behind for me. These days my approach to this is to apply  the shave stick directly to the shave brush as well. Another concept is to lather as best you can, leave the lather on the brush, then wash your face. Apply the shave stick to your face again, and with the pre-lathered brush – lather up again. This will load the brush with an ample quantity of lather.

Developing a lather on my face and brush

Once I have applied the shave stick to both my face and the brush, I use the brush on my face to “develop” the lather on the brush and my face.

By the time I’m finished, I have a great lather on my face and an ample supply of lather on the brush, too.

A well loaded brush – ready for at least two more shaving passes

My face lathered for the first pass


Having built a lather, and lathered my face, I find… that’s enough for a single post! Part two will follow tomorrow.

One response to “Shaveblog: The Travelling Wet Shave Experience

  1. Pingback: Shaveblog: The Travelling Wet Shave Experience Part II « ImaWestie

Leave a Reply

