ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Shaveblog: The Travelling Wet Shave Experience Part II

I started writing up my “shave of the day” yesterday. I hope you start there then come back to this.

I need a bit more practice with photo heavy blog posts. Anyway I will continue and finsh tonight.

First Pass

The first stroke of the first pass

T

he whole idea behind wet shaving is to gradually reduce the amount of stubble each “pass” until a sufficiently smooth finish is obtained. This may vary from “a bit of growth” to “socially acceptable shave” (SAS) to the ideal, “Baby bum smooth” (BBS). My usual effort is, three passes to end up with a Socially Acceptable Shave: this is in no small part to my quite dark growth, which can be visible against my fair skin no matter how much I shave. So it tends to be a rare event for me to go looking for a Baby Bum Smooth result – most likely before heading out for a night with my wife!

So. I am lathered up.

Holding a DE Razor is quite different to holding a pivot head cartridge razor. Most importantly, if any pressure is used – you cut yourself.

Not you “might” cut yourself. You DO cut yourself. You DO get razor burn.

End of the first pass

So you shave with NO PRESSURE.

With the blade angled in such a way “just so” and the skin carefully held taught. The first pass, goes “with the grain” (WTG).

At the end of the first pass. I end up a bit rough, but with all that work done there is no reason to stop there.

 

Relathering and second pass

My quality shave mug

So that brush I lathered up earlier has been sitting in it’s “shave mug” – yeah, right, it’s a horrible tupperware mug.

It’s not quite my own scuttle from home, but you know what? It actually does the job.

You just can’t shave an unlathered face.

So I lather up again, and have another shave pass.

Which is just like the first pass, really: Lather. Shave, WTG.

By this stage, if I really need to, I could declare that I have a socially acceptable shave, rinse, and call myself “acceptably shaven.” I am moderately well shaved, but if I rub my hand on my face it does feel rough. I never stop at this stage.

Lathered for the third pass

Third Pass

The third pass is the most important for me.

Again, I re-lather being probably more careful than either of the previous times.

This time when I shave, I shave against the grain (ATG). This results in quite a close shave, but with my skin, I usually still look like I haven’t shaved. At home, in a very hot bath, with my Bull Mastif razor – I would probably have a better shave by now with the same number of passes.

 

The finised result

Finished shaving. Ready for post-shave.

The finished result is myself with something approaching a baby bum smooth finish. At this stage, I’m ready to rinse and apply some aftershave.

Post-shave products

My post-shave product while I’m travelling are both Nivea: Nivea after-shave balm, and Nivea For Men Moisturiser.

 

Leave a Reply

