ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Those Ragged Bloody Heroes

Those Ragged Bloody Heroes – Peter Brune – cover image from Angus and Robertson website

Having spent”long enough” wearing the spotty green uniform of the Australian Army Reserve, when it comes to non fiction books those with an Australian millitary theme really catch my attention.

Peter Brune has done a fantastic job of passing on the key moments of the Kokoda campaign, during which the Japanese forces put Australia under direct threat.

It is a while since I bought this book, and I have only read it a couple of times, but it is written with a great style that retained my focus throughout. For me, at the time, that was a major accomplishment.

Since leaving the Army Reserve, my non fiction reading has turned toward parenting, raising children, including school and education, and reading about a wide range of special needs especially in the area of language and autism. My reading is also much more likely to be “off a screen” than it was in the 1990’s, so my book collection very abruptly stopped growing not long after our daughter came along. I’m not dissapointed, though.

Leave a Reply

