ImaWestie

Raising little Westies, and life as parent of a special needs son

Twice in nine months

This weekend for the second time since March 2012, I have stayed in Canberra for the weekend, rather than return home to Sydney. And a bit like last weekend, it’s not like I made that fantastic a use of my time here in Canberra.

This time, my time was devoted to work. Friday, Saturday and Sunday, from early afternoon through to the (very?) late evening, I worked. Which just at the moment is a Good Thing, but I’m glad it doesn’t happen too often.

As it so happened, the work itself was quite good: I participated in quite a significant piece of work in not too junior a role, having a real say in the work other people were doing and helping it stay on track. Like with many things, the second time around was quite simple compared to the first, with the added benefit in that I was able to set things up the way that worked for me.

This is still leaving me though, between a rock and a hard place, with what I will be doing with myself come mid January. It seems my work has plenty left to do, but possibly, they wish there was more money on hand than there actually is to get it done. I’m hoping this can work to my benefit.

I’m also hoping that if I do retain my current role, I will be working as few weekends in 2013 as I did in 2012, because my kids are more important than anything else.

Leave a Reply

